Painting the Town Ice Cream

It had been far too long since I’d caught up with two of my favourite work chums: Angie and Graham.

You’ll note I’ve named them, because they were not averse to appearing on my blog.

In fact, in a vanity stricken bout of insanity, I thought they must have been thinking – “If we appear in one of her first posts on her silly little blog, she’s going to have to keep us in her entourage when she’s super famous.”

Stop laughing. I shan’t have you sh*t on my dreams.

Anyway, in my view, our over-due rendezvous (pronounced: ren-dez-e-vus) seemed like a most excellent excuse for ice cream.

I had high hopes for an afternoon that looked a little like this:

tumblr_inline_mi1rx3HkS71qz4rgp

We set our sights high and aimed to hit three ice-creameries.

We started at Geláre.

10308234_10153136279011196_2193785902760472404_n.jpg

Nom nom nom.

It was great. The waffles were tasty. The service was good. Zero complaints.

Now, that I’m home though, I’ve thought to myself, “you know who would have complaints…”

“…people on the internet.”

A particularly gallant, anonymous individual chose to say this:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.12.44 pm.png

Mate. Come on. What happened to you that you’re not happy with the experience of leaving your house to get cold sugar?  Did one of the staff members kick you in the shins?

Yelp, of course, was a gold-mine of mixed emotion:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.30.30 pm

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.32.41 pm.png

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.34.36 pm

Disappointment, disappointment, and life goals that shoot for the moon.

We kicked on to Nitrogenie.

Nitrogenie’s great. Cute shop. High novelty factor. Pleasant flavours. Who’s to whine?

This bird:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.37.52 pm.png

“Shame on you, Nitrogenie!”

Oh, and this kid:

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.40.09 pm.png

Fortunately, this Yelper contains plenty of nuttiness.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean to go into Trey Parker / Matt Stone territory and pan Yelp. I mean, I’ve been inclined to review my local supermarket.

While enjoying our Nitrogenie delights, one Angie informed me that the spread of Cold Rock was in part her responsibility. I’ve done some cursory research and the timelines and locations check out.

Screen Shot 2015-11-29 at 9.56.33 pm.png

That being said – I’m not above finding the original owners (Selwynn and Valerie Barr) and attempting to corroborate her evidence. I’m a very strange human being and I don’t do much to fill my spare time…

The afternoon wore on and we eventually passed on the option of a third ice-creamery. We opted instead for beer and pizza at Greystone’s.

12310618_10153136423656196_5788792259471057347_n.jpg

How good is that neon bottle-oh sign?

We chatted and reminisced and everything was pleasant. We talked about Hyperbole and a Half, as well as our collective tendency to pronounce the word hyperbole thusly: “high-per-bowl.” We talked about Star Wars and Firefly.

Also, Graham claimed that there was a time before chicken was “mainstream” – this, of course, deteriorated into making note of a time before a whole range of things were mainstream…including flat breads.

Anywho, it all made for a charming day out, and the parties involved should be applauded for their general wonderfulness.

12246942_687971863898_7403084052529818582_n.jpg

Only one ‘like’ on Instagram to date. Need Graham’s social media management advice.

Leave a Reply

