I Need To Get Out More

My relationship with Mob Wives has been about as healthy as the relationships between the women on the show.

I love it. I hate it. It’s disrespected my time. I’ve laughed. I’ve cried.

bath salt zombie

It’s ridiculous. I’ve barely left the house. I’ve found myself picking up their expressions. I’m very impressionable.

https://media.giphy.com/media/yCjqzqjVy3BnO/giphy.gif

https://media.giphy.com/media/d2ZkzeSFzSkGOU6s/giphy.gif

https://media.giphy.com/media/ncmBA9dusY6kM/giphy.gif

I have absolutely no reason to say this nonsense to people.

I’ve been searching for some life lessons within the show. There must be some reason why I’ve currently dedicated around two thousand five hundred and sixty five minutes to it…

I’ve picked favourite characters.

Drita D’Avanzo

https://media.giphy.com/media/4NewnpRT93qdq/giphy.gif

Angela “Big Ang” Raiola

https://media.giphy.com/media/9drwIoD7wzIPK/giphy.gif

I have opinions on the theme songs.

The Big Bang – Rock Mafia

Love it, and not super proud to admit it.

Baby I Call Hell – Deep Vally

Love it. No caveat.

What is wrong with me?

https://media.giphy.com/media/Oo16dzRyLle0/giphy.gif

I think I have a  sense that there’s something about their behaviour that is somehow universal.

You get to see a Shakespeare-level  range of emotions.

Love.

https://media.giphy.com/media/3OePLdDgzZEo8/giphy.gif

Hate.

https://i1.wp.com/49.media.tumblr.com/61cfbbcaaf5f1f96c60e3b2c1f1a7489/tumblr_nknhr0d2Sw1ql5yr7o1_500.gif
Everyone has these feelings.

And is that why I’m watching with morbid fascination?

Apparently not.

“The message of reality television is that ordinary people can become so important that millions will watch them. And the secret thrill of many of those viewers is the thought that perhaps next time, the new celebrities might be them”

-Steven Reiss, James Wiltz (Psychology Today)

This, however, was said in 2001. Reality TV was best characterised by Survivor – another guilty pleasure.

Tom Green – of all people – wrote a fascinating article for HuffPo, titled ‘Reality TV – Rewarding Bad Behaviour

“We have become addicted to this kind of TV not only because it can be entertaining, but also it makes us feel better about ourselves”

– Tom Green

“…we all know that there’s little reality in reality TV: those “intimate” dates, for instance, are staged in front of banks of cameras and sweltering floodlights.”

“…no reality show can match the intelligence and layers of well-constructed fiction.”

“the case against reality TV is mainly moral — and there’s a point to it… So The Bachelorette is not morally instructive for grade-schoolers. But wallowing in the weaknesses and failings of humanity is a trademark of satire — people accused Jonathan Swift and Mark Twain of being misanthropes too — and much reality TV is really satire boiled down to one extreme gesture. A great reality-TV concept takes some commonplace piety of polite society and gives it a wedgie. Companies value team spirit; Survivor says the team will screw you in the end. The cult of self-esteem says everybody is talented; American Idol’s Simon Cowell says to sit down and shut your pie hole. Romance and feminism say a man’s money shouldn’t matter; Joe Millionaire wagers $50 million that they’re wrong”

“In about two minutes, it just told a quintessentially American story of ambition and desperation and shrinking options, and it left the judgment to us. That’s unsettling. That’s heartbreaking. And the reality is, that’s great TV”

I think I’m going to roll with

I’d like to do some more thinking about Reality TV and ‘Suspension of Disbelief’*

*adjusts thick-rimmed glasses

But now, I really need to go and buy a flippin’ book. Otherwise people are going to start asking me questions…

stupid

One thought on “I Need To Get Out More

Leave a Reply

