Pete’s Mug

30 Rock.

It’s possibly the greatest show in the entire world.

I’m not wrong, am I?

No, I am not.

So. Freakin’. Good.

So good that it justifies that poorly formed series of ‘sentences’.

One thing that I’ve wanted for quite some time is my own personal version of Pete’s mug.

scottadsit2.jpg

Look at it.

Look at the glorious-ness!

If I had my own version of that mug, I’d be like…

“Yes! Hornberger!”

Anywho, I’ve made my own personal version of Pete’s Mug – Steph’s Mug, if you will.

Let’s a-go, Mario; I’m going to show what I did, to ‘create’ the mug. It’s not hard. Well, until it sets – pottery joke there for you. I’ll wait for that laugh to die down, shall I?

Let’s get started


You will need:

  • air dry clay
  • a butter knife
  • yellow paint
  • paint brushes
  • cutting board
  • rolling pin

IMG_2934

Step One

Roll your clay out into a flat, with your old mate – the movable stick…

kh1CC1r.jpg

You want it to be roughly, well, mug-thickness.

IMG_2935

Step Two

Chuck a mug on top of one of your pieces – it’s fine if you’ve still got coffee in it… and cut around it with your handy butter ka-nif.

IMG_2936

If you were smart, unlike me, you’d probably do some sort of cool circumference pi trick to figure out how long you wanted your wall-of-the-mug piece to be.

But, if you are like me, you’re happy to wing it.

Step Three

Make a handle by rolling a sausage-y bit, about the size of your thumb.

IMG_2938

 Step Four

Roll your long mug-wall-y bit around the outside of the bottom of the mug bit.

Around the outside, etc…

It’s a bit of a pain in the bum to get it to go together, but given we’re styling our creation on something that was purportedly made by children…the sh**-er it looks, the better.

Chuck the handle on once you’ve got the mug wall to stand vaguely upright.

Step Five

Now you wait.

For days.

Literally, days.

Two of ’em, roughly.

It says 24 hours on the packet of the clay.

It’s lying to you – the bast***!

IMG_2941

Step Six

Paint that sucker yellow!

And you’re done!

Happiest of days!

IMG_2958

IMG_2957

Now you’ll go and watch some 30 Rock.

2 thoughts on “Pete’s Mug

Leave a Reply

